The Eye of a Storm

Acrylic Painting titled The Eye of the Storm

“My experiences remind me that it’s those black clouds that make the blue skies even more beautiful.” Kelly Clarkson

“The Eye of a Storm” is a mixed media acrylic painting from the “Kiss the Sky” invitational exhibit at Summit Art Space for the celebration of the reopening of the Akron Art Museum in 2007. This unusual vertical composition format commands the viewer to look up and makes the sky more dramatic. It was inspired by photos taken right out my front door in the Fall.  The ominous looking storm had a small break in the clouds where the sunset peeked through the clouds and looked like an eye.

This is a mixed media painting with Japanese rice papers used for additional texture and is a gallery wrapped canvas, so the painting continues on all sides. There is no need for a frame. The size is 24 x 48.

About sandy yocum

I began my career as printmaker, primarily collagraphs, in 1983. My current work is acrylic on canvas featuring boldly colorful paintings that I hope you find dramatic and daring. I use a camera for inspiration, but never copy only interpret what is captured by the camera.
This entry was posted in Storms and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment