Hometown Beauty

Acrylic Painting titled Hometown Beauty

The clouds that gather round the setting sun
Do take a sober coloring from an eye
That hath kept watch o’er man’s mortality.

William Wordsworth

I was returning home near sunset after a brief rainstorm, when I caught this beautiful cloud formation. The sky was just about to let the last light of day disappear into the horizon, and this beautiful thunderhead reflected that last light of day. I wanted to simplify the composition and removed much of the street clutter that was in the photo that I took. The street is positioned to lead the eye to the focal point…the thunderhead.

 

About sandy yocum

I began my career as printmaker, primarily collagraphs, in 1983. My current work is acrylic on canvas featuring boldly colorful paintings that I hope you find dramatic and daring. I use a camera for inspiration, but never copy only interpret what is captured by the camera.
This entry was posted in Sunsets and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment