Wake Up America

Acrylic Painting titled Wake Up America

We often praise the evening clouds,                                                                                                  And tints so gay and bold,                                                                                                                  But seldom think upon our God,                                                                                                        Who tinged these clouds with gold.                                                                                            Walter Scott

 

Our country is in trouble…many of us seem to be asleep and uninterested in the challenges that we face. We are in debt, cities and states face unfunded liabilities, we have lost our leadership here and abroad, we lost many of our freedoms, and we are inundated with multiple scandals and government takeovers. I believe in American exceptionalism and know if we all pay attention, we will solve our challenges.

I have often said that my interest in the sky paintings is that they mimic life. We face stormy times, followed by blue skies. I decided to create this acrylic painting of an Illinois landscape in the winter at sunset. Illinois is my home state and is in serious financial trouble. Title of the painting is, “Wake Up America,” size is 3′ x 5′.

 

 

About sandy yocum

I began my career as printmaker, primarily collagraphs, in 1983. My current work is acrylic on canvas featuring boldly colorful paintings that I hope you find dramatic and daring. I use a camera for inspiration, but never copy only interpret what is captured by the camera.
This entry was posted in Sunsets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment