David’s Sky

Acrylic Painting titled David's Sky

“The artist is a receptacle for emotions that come from all over the place: from the sky, from the earth, from a scrap of paper, from a passing shape, from a spider’s web.” Pablo Picasso 

“David’s Sky” was inspired by a friend’s encouragement and query if I would ever create art again. My sky paintings had touched David in the past, and his question in May 2013, was the impetus for my return to art. I was very disillusioned with the “job” I had and was longing to return to what moved my soul….Lack of courage kept me from changing until David’s prompting question.

When I started this acrylic painting, I found myself creating a breakthrough painting that illuminated the clearing of the sky after a storm at sunset. The symbolism of closing one door and opening another was so apparent to me. I thought it was fitting that I would name this painting, “David’s Sky.”

The painting is now in David’s collection, a gift purchased by David’s wife, my friend Karen.

About sandy yocum

I began my career as printmaker, primarily collagraphs, in 1983. My current work is acrylic on canvas featuring boldly colorful paintings that I hope you find dramatic and daring. I use a camera for inspiration, but never copy only interpret what is captured by the camera.
This entry was posted in Sunsets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment